Newbie to Body Painting - Have a Preparation Question, plus?

Tips or questions about painting should be discussed here.

Moderator: Moderators

rlanza1054
Savage Enthusiast
Savage Enthusiast

Newbie to Body Painting - Have a Preparation Question, plus?

Post by rlanza1054 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:28 pm

Hi all,

Newbie here, Rob.

Ok background, have my first RC, the Savage Flux HP.  Maybe you've read my introduction thread.

So while I'm waiting for my ESC and Motor to be replaced after a spectacular flame out, I purchased a new body shell (I had ordered the body shell before the ESC got destroyed) and am using the withdrawal time to paint my first body shell.

Everyone here had posted links to some terrific 'How to Paint RC's and I've watched enough that I feel comfortable getting it started.

There is one question in the preparation I'm trying to resolve first. (I went through the Body Shop thread and did not find my question.)

In one or two videos they talk about lightly sanding the inside of the body shell before washing.

In other videos they don't mention sanding the body shell first.

If I am supposed to sand it, wouldn't that make the paint end up looking less shiny when done or show the sanding marks?

The people that talked about the sanding said its so the paint sticks better.

Just for added info, I purchased the Chevrolet EL Camino SS Body (7177).

I got the Testors Amazing Air Airbrush Paint Set (for beginners I believe).

I purchased Testors Acrylic Paint which says on the box for Auto Body.

I purchased Testors Ultra Bright Fluroescents Enamel.

I'm not sure if these Testors paint are OK on this Body Shell which I am assuming is a Lexon shell.

I purchased a can of Dupli-Color Adhesion Promoter. I'm not sure if this is good for these Lexon body shells or should even be used?